Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

Coming in October 2013!!!

This year, we’re going to be holding a updated version of the Math Blogger Initiation that happened last year! We were crazy surprised by how many people were interested in joining up and trying something new — blogging with other math teachers! This year, we are planning to have a slightly different program for people to join called EXPLORING THE MATHTWITTERBLOGOSPHERE.

We’re designing it to help those who are just starting out with the mathtwitterblogosphere and for those who have dipped their toes in and want to get even more involved.  Or even if you have dropped off the face of the virtual planet and want to join back in!

Each week we will post a new adventure for you to participate in involving the online math teacher community. And we are planning a virtual reward for those who participate in every event! However you don’t have to participate every week — you have to do what’s good for you. By the end, we hope you feel like you know much of what’s out there. Ultimately, the end goal is personal growth (not comments and blog readership).

Join us on this exciting adventure!  Meet new friends!  Get tons of new ideas!

So y’all can start school smoothly, we’re going to be starting this in October, and we’ll release more information in mid-September.

Let the fun begin!

JulieJustinSamTina

1001079_10151549528141850_1483021589_n


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

10 thoughts on “Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

  1. Not sure what I’ve stumbled into, but I’m intrigued.

  2. Umm.. I stop by here a week ago and there was a post that you could “sign up” (post your name, contact info, and what you were hoping to gain from MTBoS.) That post seems to be gone and I am worried I missed out on my chance to officially sign up. I’m going to do the missions anyway, but I’m just wondering if the sign up was needed for something (like email updates or a database somewhere.) Thanks for all the work you guys have put into this, I am really excited to participate.

  3. My name is Cindy Smith (@CindySmith) and I’m participating in explore the MathTwitterBlogosphere. My first task was to write a blog post, so here it is! http://blogs.gssd.ca/csmith/2013/10/08/negative-zero/ “Negative Zero”.

    • Hi Cindy – I think we both responded to the wrong post…

      Also, I read your post – I loved it! I loved the idea of pulling in quote from mathematicians to have the initial discussion centered around what he/she was trying to say. A colleague also has a “wall” with student achievements (his is for PE exercises) that kids LOVE to come back and examine. They certainly want to see if they’ve left a mark, and it sticks with them!

  4. Hello! My name is Kevin Olson (@olsonk408), and my blog is called “Blogstorm” (when I came up with the name years ago, I did not know the term had an alternate meaning). My post in response to this first missing is called, “My ‘Classroom'” (http://blog-storming.blogspot.com/2013/10/my-classroom.html). Here’s an excerpt:

    “The big picture for me was, ‘these kids just did an hour of intense math’ and ‘students cheered when they saw the answer!’ I knew at that point that I had to share this with as many others as I could.”

  5. Hi gang. Bob Lochel here. You can follow me on twitter, @bobloch. Thinking of my favorite rich math task over a 17-year career was not easy, but I think I found one which summarizes my expectations for students. Hope you enjoy it: http://mathcoachblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/exploring-the-mathtwitterblogosphere/

  6. Hi, I’m Robin and I tweet @romathio. My blog is also titled romathio. My blog post is: MTBOS week 1 – my class is different due to no F’s! You can read it here: http://romathio.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/mtbos-week-1-my-class-is-different-due-to-no-fs/

    For the first time ever, all of my students are not only passing my classes, they have also passed their unit tests. I mean EVER. My blog shares why I think this is happening this year.

  7. […] ‘Explore MTBoS’ is a series of challenges put together by a group of experienced maths education bloggers to help those of us with less experience to find our way around the world of maths blogging.  I’ve found it a useful way of finding other people who blog about maths teaching and have already encountered lots of new tools to explore and ideas to reflect on.  This week’s challenge was to engage with some collaborative sites and although I was already familiar with some of these, many were completely new to me and well worth exploring.  I’m sure I’ll be coming back to them. […]

  8. What i do not understood is inn fact how you’re not really a lot more smartly-preferred than you may be now.
    You’re very intelligent. You understand thus significantly
    in the case of this matter, made me personally consider
    it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated except it is something to accomplish with Lady gaga!
    Your individual stuffs nice. At all times take care of it
    up!

Leave a comment